Simply enter your keyword and we will help you find what you need.

What are you looking for?

Image Alt

Bulgarian Presidency Flagship Conference on Research Infrastructures

Enhancing Long Term Sustainability and Opening Up RIs to Society and Industry

Research Infrastructures beyond 2020 – sustainable and effective ecosystem for science and society .

22 and 23 March 2018 Sofia Tech Park, Bulgaria

Research infrastructures (RIs) are one of the key elements for the development and improvement of knowledge and technology. Long term sustainability has been repeatedly highlighted as the main challenge for European RIs and it will depend on a common understanding and agreement among policy-makers and research managers as well as the industry stakeholders.

The overall goal of the conference is to stress on the importance of continued political commitment to public and ESIF investments in research infrastructures by demonstrating evidence for the broad benefits of research infrastructures for society and industry. The event will present an opportunity to validate to policy makers, industry and society that excellent science through long-term investments in research infrastructures is critical for tackling the rapidly changing grand challenges, to accelerate diffusion of knowledge to large number of SMEs and to increase the overall innovation and competitiveness performance of Europe.

Our Speakers, Moderators and Panelists .

Krasimir Valchev

Minister of Education and Science of Bulgaria
Carlos Moedas

Commissioner for Research, Innovation and Science
Prof. Ana Proykova

Sofia University, Head of HPC laboratory
Jean-David Malo

Director Directorate General Research and Innovation, European Commission
Milena Žic Fuchs

Member of the High-Level Group on maximizing the impact of EU research and innovation programmes (Lamy Group)
Giorgio Rossi

Chairperson, European Strategy Forum on Research Infrastructures (ESFRI)
Erik Steinfelder

Director General, Biobanking and Biomolecular Resources Research Infrastructure (BBMRI)
Franciska de Jong

Executive Director, Common Language Resources and Technology Infrastructure – European Research Infrastructures Consortium (CLARIN – ERIC)
Tiziana Ferrari

Technical Director, European Grid Infrastructure (EGI) Foundation - Rapporteur
Beatrix Vierkorn-Rudolph

Chair of InRoad Advisory Board
Prof. John Womersley

Director General, European Spallation Source – European Research Infrastructures Consortium (ESS – ERIC)
Salvatore La Rosa

Ministry of Education, Universities and Research, Italy
Mats Johnsson

Senior Advisor at Ministry of Education and Research, Sweden
Dr. Caterina Biscari

Vice Chair, League of European Accelerator – based Photon Sources (LEAPS) ALBA Synchrotron Director
Axel Börsch-Supan

Managing Director, Survey of Health, Ageing and Retirement in Europe – European Research Infrastructures Consortium (SHARE-ERIC)
Margarida Ribeiro

Policy Officer, Directorate “Open Innovation and Open Science”, DG “Research and Innovation”, European Commission - Rapporteur
Juan Maria Vazquez

Secretary General Science and Innovation, Spain
Lukás Levák

Director, Department of Research and Development, Ministry of Education, Youth and Sports, Czech Republic
Mateusz Gaczynski

Deputy Director, Department of Innovation and Development, Ministry of Science and Higher Education, Poland
Alexandra Vilela

Competitiveness and Internationalization Operational Programme Authority, Portugal
Iliyana Tsanova

Deputy Managing Director, European Strategic Investments Fund
Eugenia Kazamaki Ottersten

Head of Smart Development Division, Joint Assistance to Support Projects in European Regions (JASPERS)
Nicolae Victor Zamfir

General Director of Horia Hulubei National Research and Development Institute for Physics and Nuclear Engineering; Director of ELI -NP, Romania
Ylva Reisnert

Policy advisor Research and Innovation, Skåne European Office - Rapporteur
Dr. Jana Kolar

Executive Director, Central European Research Infrastructures Consortium – European Research Infrastructures Consortium (CERIC – ERIC)
Iain Mattaj

Director General, European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL) and EIROforum Chair – keynote speaker
Fredrik Melander

Head of Research & Development Relations, Science Village Scandinavia
Jean Susini

Director of Research, ESRF
Dr. Marcus Nordberg

Head of Resources Development, CERN
Ilaria Nardello

Executive Director, European Marine Biological Resources Centre (EMBRC)
Anna Sandström

Director of Science Relations, AstraZeneca
Zlatuše Novotná

Head of Strategic Partnerships & International Relations, CEITEC
Edward Mitchell

Head of Business Development, European Synchrotron Radiation Facility (ESRF) - Rapporteur
Karina Angelieva

Counsellor, Research and Education, Permanent Representation of Republic of Bulgaria to the European Union
Manuel Heitor

Minister of Science, Technology and Higher Education, Portugal
Jan Hrusak

Member of the Council for large research infrastructures, Czech Republic, European Strategy Forum on Research Infrastructures (ESFRI) Vice-Chair
Tomaž Boh

State Secretary at Ministry of Education, Science and Sport, Slovenia
Barbara Weitgruber

Director General for Scientific Research and International Relations, Austrian Federal Ministry of Education, Science and Research (BMBWF)
Barbara Kudrycka

Member of the European Parliament
Markku Markkula

First Vice-President of the Committee of Regions
Prof. Ivan Dimov

Deputy Minister of Education and Science, Bulgaria
Dominik Sobczak

Policy Officer, Directorate “Open Innovation and Open Science”, DG “Research and Innovation”, European Commission - Rapporteur

You'll Fall In Love With Sofia .